It is currently July 24th, 2014, 4:00 pm

Seeking Advice: Cold Weather Exertion 

Post Seeking Advice: Cold Weather Exertion
I know you Aussies and Tasmaniacs (sp?) are getting into summertime soon, but it's getting colder here in the northern climes. I am a newbie at some of this heart stuff. My MI was in January and SCA's in February, but I didn't venture ouitside very much last winter. This year I am out in it a bit and wonder how much I should be.

I still walk a lot because I still have 2 months left on my driving restriction. This morning I walked 30 minutes, about a mile and a half. The temp was in the 20's with a stiff breeze. It will get colder. Clothing is not really an issue, but I wonder about breathing in a lot of cold air. I might need to shovel a little snow occasionally, also. We don't get a lot of snow here, but do get some. Shoveling should be light.

I am probably only CHF Class 1, lots of symptoms, but none really seriously affecting me. The worst is fatigue and sometimes cold extremeties. I was wondering if any of you had any good rules of thumb to go by.

Suggestions?

Two rules to live by:
1) Don't sweat the small stuff!
2) It's all small stuff!

My Intro is on this page: http://www.icdsupportgroup.org/board/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=3&p=74917#p74917

December 5th, 2011, 12:27 pm
Profile E-mail

Post Re: Seeking Advice: Cold Weather Exertion