.·:*¨¨*:·..·:*¨¨*:·.INTRODUCTION THREAD.·:*¨¨*:·..·:*¨¨*:·.

Posts from Jan. 1, 2018 to the present. Plus important announcements. (ICD warning sounds)

Moderator: Moderators

icdadmin
Announcement Admin

.·:*¨¨*:·..·:*¨¨*:·.INTRODUCTION THREAD.·:*¨¨*:·..·:*¨¨*:·.

Post by icdadmin » August 26th, 2005, 6:17 pm

Use this thread to introduce yourself at "ICD Support Group".

Shelby
Board Creator

Post by Shelby » August 26th, 2005, 9:21 pm

Hello everyone, and welcome!

I am Shelby. I'm 32 years old and live in Anaheim, California, about 2 miles North of Disneyland (fun!). I'm a writer and am currently working on a novel--no genre, just general contemporary adult fiction.

I got my Medtronic ICD in April, 2002, and thankfully I've never had a shock. I also have dilated cardiomyopathy and very nearly had a transplant in 2002--I was on the list until Toprol turned me around. I'm extremely fortunate to be in good health now and zap-free.

I think that's about it from me!

Shelby

Here I am!

And here are my "babies"--Scout and Digory
Last edited by Shelby on March 21st, 2009, 5:11 pm, edited 3 times in total.

don

Post by don » August 29th, 2005, 6:11 am

Hello

I'm don. I live in the swamps in SE Texas. I got my first ICD sometime in the mid-90's. Number three is coming up.

I used to received therapy a lot but through prayer, meditation and good medicine I haven't been shocked in at least two years.

In my first life I was a combat soldier for 12 years until injuries caused my retirement. My second incarnation was as a high voltage worker until injuries caused my retirement again. Life number three was as a medic on a Mobile Intensive Care Unit and in emergency departments and trauma centers around SE Texas until fear of my ICD going off at a critical time forced me to retire again. Life number four is as an ordained minister of ULC church. I anticipate the end of this career will be when I'm looking up at the grass. (Don't be scared - I don't preach on the board).