Welcome Folkfanrich (Rich)

Posts from Jan. 1, 2018 to the present. Plus important announcements. (ICD warning sounds)

Moderator: Moderators

ricatlga

Welcome Folkfanrich (Rich)

Post by ricatlga » July 11th, 2018, 11:18 am

Hi, all,

I'm new to the ICD world having had my first overnight hospital stay in my 67 years. With all the new lifestyle changes needed, and knowing how well we humans handle change, I thought some support might be helpful. So, then I encountered this forum using Google.

I had a three-minute bout of syncope 2 weeks ago at breakfast, surrounded by my wife and three good friends who had stayed over following our 7th annual solstice goin up the country lake jam session here in the Driftless Region of Wisconsin. I felt a bit funny, blinked and then the folks sitting across from me had disappeared - they were holding me up in the chair asking if I was okay. Long story short, I left the hospital an hour and a half away five days later knowing my arteries were clear, my EF was 30% and with a new Medtronics ICD.

Looking forward to participating in this forum and learning much from all of you. Feeling like I had a serious wake-up call, grateful for a new lease on life, believing the Holy Spirit has more work for me, and maybe she likes what I've been doing so far.
Peace, y'all!

Rich
Welcome Rich - Two weeks post ICD it's a little late to tell you :armdown: , but do remember you have to use that arm to keep it limber. Moxie the tortie kitty looks like she weighs about as much as a gallon of milk, which is usually the limit to lift with your left arm. Glad that you found the forum. For me, this was my sole support group when I joined some 8 years ago. In fact, I'm now scheduled August 30th for a new ICD as the battery has worn down past its useful life.

Regards,
Raymund
Raymund
Replaced ICD 8/30/18 with Medtronic Visia AF SureScan MRI ICD
Ablation May 2012 - Sotalol discontinued in September
VF unknown cause 1/19/2010, Medtronic Secura-VR 1-22-10