Electrical work in an industrial facility

Posts from Jan. 1, 2009 to Dec 31, 2009

Moderators: Suzanne, ~guin

boxhead

Electrical work in an industrial facility

Post by boxhead » June 5th, 2009, 12:19 pm

Hi everybody:
6 weeks ago, I had cardiac arrest while drag racing and recieved a Medtronics Secura. As of now, I'm doing well; no zaps.
I'm back to work light-duty. Trouble is, I work as an elecrical-mechanical maint. tech in an industrial facility. We are exposed to EMF(we don't know how much yet; meters are being acquired) from large motors, electrical rooms,VF drives, ect.
I just don't know how sensitive these really are. We do have Medtronic's recommended exposure limits, but I was wondering if anyone else works around industrial electrical components.
Also, in time I'd like to race again. While it was probably going to happen sooner or later ( and I'm damn lucky it occured in front of some darn good EMT's ), it was the excitement of competing that triggered it.
I'm on Toprol now, it's been explained to me that this med should at least lessen the risk of re-occurence.
This is all new to me. I understand that a few changes may be in order, but God willing, I'd like to not have it dominate my life. Thanks, Sean

wfd107

Re: Electrical work in an industrial facility

Post by wfd107 » June 5th, 2009, 3:00 pm

I was told I can not lean over any kind of running engine, generator or alternator. My wife found a link to Medtronic with a list of things to avoid and distances to stay away from other things. Here is the link, hope it helps.
http://docs.google.com/gview?a=v&pid=gm ... Fpdf&pli=1

Erik
Erik
SCA 3/16/2008
Brugada Syndrome
ICD since March 2008

don

Post by don » June 5th, 2009, 4:15 pm

I think you'll have a better idea when you get the new meters. Doesn't sound like a good atmosphere to spend 1/3 of your life to me.

don

Clint

Post by Clint » June 5th, 2009, 6:16 pm

Hi Sean