It is currently July 23rd, 2014, 7:55 pm

Social Security Disability question 

Post Social Security Disability question
I am looking into SSDI and spoke to a lawyer today. He is going to look at my medical records and talk to my doctors, but he is not sure if I will be able to get it. He said if I was 50 or older I would get it no problem, but since I am only 37 he doesnt think I will get it. That doesnt seem right to me. I had to retire from being a firefighter because of the Brugada Syndrome, and now my doctor told me I should not do my part time work as a contractor. My doctor is pushing me to not work at all. Right now I cant even drive. Has anyone applied for SSDI? What was your outcome? Does anyone have any advice when applying for SSDI with Brugada Syndrome? Thanks.

ICD since March 2008

June 3rd, 2009, 10:56 pm
Profile E-mail

Post Re: Social Security Disability question
I have no opinion on your medical condition, but can comment on Soc Sec. I was an office manager and 60 when I had my third heart attack, did triple by-pass and got an icd. My ejection fraction was under 30%. In this condition and at 60, the "guidebooks" indicated I'd get disability. I tried filing myself and ultimately, months later, was "rejected." I then got a lawyer and we did it all again (he was interested in how many days per year I'd miss from a job because of my heart). About 2 1/2 years after all this, I did get disability and finally medicare. Everyone involved stressed that my age (60+) was a significant factor.